Horizontal Pleats Dress

Continuing with my sort of participation in Self Stitched September, I’ve finished a quick update on a dress I made last month, but lazily left too long (mid calf, eugh), so as not to have to hem it. Lazy fadgirl.
The original dress pattern was the super easy Burda 11/2010 117A, which I have now made twice and LOVE! It’s so quick and easy, even with the zip and pockets and lining, brilliant.
So, I came across this lovely tutorial from the See Kate Sew blog for shortening a dress or skirt with horizontal pleats; which also adds a really sweet and interesting design feature too.

20110904-104219.jpg
It was very easy to follow, thanks to guest poster Michael Ann’s clear directions. In fact, I didn’t even pin ( so slovenly I know!), I just used my trusty sewing ruler thingy and chalk. I marked the fold line all around, pressed then sewed using my sewing machine gauge to sew two pleats with a 2 cm depth, and 3 cm spacing.

20110904-104316.jpg
The dress now hits me on the knee and I just adore the pleats, so cute and interesting, well worth the very small effort involved and much more fun than just hemming it shorter!

20110904-104431.jpg
I’m wearing it over a long sleeved tshirt today as it’s a bit in-between weather-wise.
I think it makes a change from wearing a cardigan over it, although I am a big cardy fan, truth be told.
Hey, I like to feel warm, don’t judge me 🙂

Leave a Reply

